Where have you been?

Can I just make it as short and sweet as possible?  I have 2 kids…it is the fall…school/sports/band/etc.  

First, I have been holding this in for as long as possible and it is driving me nuts.  I have not told my wife, my kids…I can’t tell my church or even post it to my Facebook account because I would NEVER hear the end of it.  The news?  I VOTED FOR OBAMA!

I know, no biggie for a lot of people, but this is huge for me.  I have been a registered republican for 20 years now and have towed the party line more often than not.  I did vote in the GOP primary and picked Ron Paul, not because I agreed with him but because his name caused me to throw up in my mouth the least.  And when Romney finally got the nomination, not like there was going to be any doubts, I began to doubt that he was getting my vote. 

I have been very critical of President Obama, and just about any democrats or liberal for that matter, to the point that I was just a jerk with a bad attitude.  So, as I considered which 3rd party I would support I decided to give the President an open and honest look.  I don’t agree with him on all things, I am still very pro-life (so much so that I want to see troops pulled from overseas, I want the defense budget cut, I want to see an end to the death penalty, and I hate factory farming and I am also a vegetarian!) so I don’t see any middle ground there.  I’ve also become more accepting of of gays and lesbians and more open to marriage equality, and I’m really softening on that.  But I also realized that we were in the crapper financially 4 years ago and we are doing a hell of a lot better today and there is a chance of improvement.  

So, I did it.  I overlooked all of the hatred and voted for my President, Barack Obama.  And when Ohio was called on Tuesday night I quietly celebrated and went to work on Wednesday with a big smile on my face thinking the sun was shining a little brighter!

Hopefully one day I can share this with someone other than a really good friend from college whose political and theological leanings have moved more mainstream in recent years.  

I will hopefully get an update on here soon about where I am at spiritually as well.  Thanks to those who have checked on me, it is appreciated!

About questionablefaith

I am an actively serving baptist minister going through a crisis of faith...sometimes I see myself more in the agnostic camp than in the "believer" camp. Honestly, I don't really know what I believe anymore, and this is my outlet for thinking.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I feel the same way. Several people have asked me straight, “Who did you vote for?” My answer: “Worry not, I voted for America!” And I believe I did. I’m not liberal by any stretch, but I’m not nearly as ultra-conservative as I used to be. I think the message the Republicans and Democrats alike should walk away with this election is to stop with all the “chicken little” nonsense and get down to business. There has to be a moderate position in there somewhere!

  2. “I am still very pro-life (so much so that I want to see troops pulled from overseas, I want the defense budget cut, I want to see an end to the death penalty, and I hate factory farming and I am also a vegetarian!) so I don’t see any middle ground there. I’ve also become more accepting of of gays and lesbians and more open to marriage equality, and I’m really softening on that. But I also realized that we were in the crapper financially 4 years ago and we are doing a hell of a lot better today and there is a chance of improvement. “

    This is an excellent summary. Well done for being open minded! There are many of us outside the US who are very glad you and your fellow Americans voted Obama back in!

  3. Proud of you for voting for the person you felt was right for the job.

  4. u could have voted libertarian

  5. Glad to see you around.

  6. Looking forward to your future update. I’ve been curious how your journey has been lately.

    Thought you might find this an interesting read (not saying you have to agree with her):

    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/lovejoyfeminism/2012/10/how-i-lost-faith-in-the-pro-life-movement.html

  7. You didn’t?! 🙂

    As a Canadian I’m glad you voted for Obama.

  8. I just blogged about this today, tell me what you think, cheers Graeme

  9. Five years later…..are you still here?

Leave a comment